Recreating Italy

There were certain dishes I ate in Italy that I knew I had to replicate. So, I decided on a menu of Melon Salad, Gnocchi alla Romana, and Chocolate Gelato for this week.

First, I made melon salad. This falls under the category of super easy and very delicious.

For each salad you want to make, you need:
1. a handful of arugula, tossed in a little bit of olive oil
2. about 1 cup of very ripe cantaloupe
3. A sprinkling of shredded or thinly sliced Parmesan cheese

Put them in a bowl in that order, and you have a delicious summer salad.

Next, I made Gnocchi Alla Romana:

Gnocchi alla Romana

Unlike normal gnocchi, which is made with potatoes and flour, this gnocchi is made a lot like polenta. I used this recipe. However, when we had this is Italy, it had been pan-fried in sage butter. So, I followed the above recipe up until the cooking instructions.

After cutting the gnocchi into squares, I prepared a skillet. I melted together butter and olive oil (about 1/4 cup oil and 2 tablespoons butter for the whole batch of 24 pieces), and then I crisped up some sage leaves to flavor the oils. I removed the sage, and added my gnocchi, and cooked until they were golden brown on each side (about 2-3 minutes per side at 365 F.) I then sprinkled the reserved Parmesan after plating the gnocchi.

For dessert, I made chocolate gelato:

Chocolate Gelato

The recipe I used came from the book Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home. I used her recipe for the Darkest Chocolate Ice Cream in the World. It was, as promised, very fudge-like and thick and creamy. We all approved.

Hopefully you’ll feel inspired to try some of these yummy recipes soon!

Categories: Appetizer, Around the World Meals, Desserts, Main Dish, Quick and Easy | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

