The Food of Italy!

Sorry the the delay – I know you’ve all been dying to see the delicious food of Italy!

During our stay in Italy, we tried a variety of pastas, pizzas, and sweets. Here, I have selected my favorite appetizer, meal, and dessert to share with all of you. Hopefully, when we have a working dishwasher next week, I can get into experimentation mode and find out how to make some of these delicious foods, so I can also share a recipe with you! For now, you’ll have to make due with the pictures.

Melon Salad

We got this melon salad as an appetizer in the Trastevere section of Rome. The melon was tossed with olive oil and a touch of salt, and was served over a bed of arugula. The whole thing was topped off with mouthwatering, freshly sliced Parmesan.

When we ordered Roman gnocchi, to our surprise, we got this:

Roman Gnocchi

Rather than being boiled, these gnocchi had been pan-fried in butter with sage leaves. Also, the gnocchi seemed like they were made with potatoes and cornmeal rather than potatoes and flour. They were the most amazing gnocchi I’ve ever eaten in my life. I am definitely going to try to recreate these. There is no way I can go the rest of my life without having them again!

Of course, we had to try the famous Italian dessert – gelato. We tried this while in Milan. They really didn’t play around with the amount. For 4 euros (about $5) I got about 6 scoops of gelato.

Gelato

The flavors pictured here are cantaloupe and hazelnut. Absolutely delicious!

I hope you enjoyed the Italian food pictures! Tomorrow, check back for a sweet breakfast recipe!

Categories: Appetizer, Desserts, Main Dish | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

